Dance with me

We walked into the little plaza.

Music was playing.

It was a beautiful night.

Strings of lights were above us.

In the middle of the square.

Right by the fountain.

Dance with me.

He held out his hand.

I just looked at him.

My nerves got the best of me.

I was shy or worried or whatever else came to mind.

Instead, we sat there holding hands, watching other couples dance.

I sat as I let that moment pass me by.

I have always thought back to that night.

He was the bold, lively, carefree guy.

And I was the shy, nervous girl who hadn’t lived much.

How much has changed.

How much life he’s shown me.

And still, I wish I would’ve just danced.

Leave a Reply

